Disciplinary Board for Bishops

Membership

l l		
The Rt. Rev. Dorsey F. Henderson, Jr., $President$	Upper South Carolina, IV	2015
The Rt. Rev. Robert Fitzpatrick, $Clerk$	Hawaii, VIII	2015
The Rt. Rev. Ian T. Douglas	Connecticut, I	2012
Mr. Victor Feliberty-Ruberte	Puerto Rico, IX	2012
The Rt. Rev. Dena Harrison	Texas, VII	2012
Mr. Christopher J. Hayes	California, VIII	2012
The Rt. Rev. Herman Hollerith IV	Southern Virginia, III	2012
The Rt. Rev. J. Scott Mayer	Northwest Texas, VII	2012
The Rev. Marjorie A. Menaul	Central Pennsylvania, III	2012
Ms. Josephine Powell	Michigan, V	2015
The Rev. Jesus Reyes	El Camino Real, VIII	2015
Diane E. Sammons, Esq.	Newark, II	2015
The Rt. Rev. M. Thomas Shaw III	Massachusetts, I	2015
The Rev. Canon Angela F. Shepherd	Maryland, III	2012
The Rt. Rev. Prince G. Singh	Rochester, II	2012
The Rev. Robert Two Bulls, Jr.	Los Angeles, VIII	2015
The Rt. Rev. James Edward Waggoner, Jr.	Spokane, VIII	2015
The Rt. Rev. Catherine M. Waynick	Indianapolis, V	2015
The Hon. Josephine Hicks, Church Attorney		

Summary of Work

The Disciplinary Board for Bishops was created in accordance with Title IV.17.3, which provides that:

"The Disciplinary Board for Bishops is hereby established as a court of the Church to have original jurisdiction over matters of discipline of Bishops, to hear Bishops' appeals from imposition of restriction on ministry or placement on Administrative Leave and to determine venue issues as provided in Canon IV.19.5. The Disciplinary Board for Bishops shall consist of ten Bishops elected at any regularly scheduled meeting of the House of Bishops, and four Priests or Deacons and four lay persons initially appointed by the President of the House of Deputies with the advice and consent of the lay and clergy members of the Executive Council and thereafter elected by the House of Deputies. All lay persons appointed to serve shall be confirmed adult communicants in good standing. Members of the Board shall serve staggered terms of six years, with terms of one half of the Bishops and one half of the lay persons, Priests and Deacons collectively expiring every three years, with the first expirations occurring at the end of the year 2012."

The Disciplinary Board met for organizational purposes, via conference call, on July 1, 2011, the effective date of Title IV as revised. Bishop Henderson was elected President, and Bishop Fitzpatrick was elected Clerk.

The Board met again on August 17 and November 22, 2011; these meetings, too, were conducted via telephone conference calls. On August 17, the Board discussed possibilities to fill the role as Church Attorney. The choice of the Church attorney was later affirmed by the Board using e-mails. Additional legal assistance was provided for a period by the Honorable Jack W. ("JB") Burch, Jr.

Title IV.6(6) assigns an additional responsibility to the President of the Disciplinary Board, to be exercised alone—to receive, consider, and render a decision on appeals from the dismissal of complaints by the Intake Officer: "In the event of an appeal of a dismissal, the president of the Disciplinary Board shall, within thirty days of the receipt of the appeal, review the intake report and either affirm or overrule the dismissal. The president shall promptly notify the

Disciplinary Board for Bishops

Complainant, the Intake Officer, and the Bishop Diocesan (in cases of bishops, the Presiding Bishop) of the decision. If the decision is to overrule the dismissal, the president shall refer the intake report to the Reference Panel."

As of the date of this writing, the President has received four appeals from dismissals by the Intake Officer of complaints against bishops. Of these, the President has affirmed one dismissal; decisions in the other three are pending.

Since the implementation of the revised Title IV on July 1, 2011, the Board has received, considered, and rendered one decision on allegations of abandonment of the communion of The Episcopal Church by a Bishop thereof [see Title IV. 16(A)(1)].