DISCIPLINARY BOARD FOR BISHOPS

Membership

The Rt. Rev. Catherine Waynick, Convener	Eastern Michigan, V	2021
The Hon. Joseph Alarid	Rio Grande, VII	2024
The Rt. Rev. Mark Bourlakas	Southwestern Virginia, III	2024
The Rt. Rev. Jennifer Brooke-Davidson	Virginia, III	2024
The Rt. Rev. Wendell Gibbs	Michigan, V	2024
The Rt. Rev. Dena Harrison	Texas, VII	2024
The Rt. Rev. Dorsey Henderson, Jr.	Florida, IV	2021
The Rt. Rev. A. Robert Hirschfeld	New Hampshire, I	2024
The Rev. Canon Suzann Holding	Chicago, V	2021
The Rt. Rev. Herman Hollerith	Southern Virginia, III	2024
The Rt. Rev. Michael Buerkel Hunn	Rio Grande, VII	2021
The Rt. Rev. W. Nicholas Knisely	Rhode Island, I	2021
The Rev. Erik Larsen	Rhode Island, I	2021
The Rev. Mally Ewing Lloyd	Massachusetts, I	2024
Dr. Melissa Perrin	Chicago, V	2024
Mr. Marcellus Smith	Alabama, IV	2021
The Rev. Alistair So	Maryland, III	2024
Ms. Deborah Stokes-Wayne	Southern Ohio, V	2021
The Rev. Irene Tanabe	Hawaii, VIII	2024

Acknowledgements

Rt. Rev'd Todd Ousley serves as Intake Officer for the Disciplinary Board. These terms of service will continue until the next General Convention has the opportunity to elect a class of members to replace the outgoing 2021 class.

Mandate

Canon IV.17.3-5

Sec. 3.

The Disciplinary Board for Bishops is hereby established as a court of the Church to have original jurisdiction over matters of discipline of Bishops, to hear Bishops' appeals from imposition of restriction on ministry or placement on Administrative Leave and to determine venue issues as provided in Canon IV.19.5. The Disciplinary Board for Bishops shall consist of ten (10) Bishops elected by the House of Bishops at a regularly scheduled session of General Convention, and four (4) Priests or Deacons and four (4) lay persons elected by the House of Deputies. All lay persons elected or appointed to serve shall be confirmed adult communicants in good standing. Members of the Board shall serve staggered terms of six (6) years, with terms of one half of the Bishops and one half of the lay persons, Priests and Deacons collectively expiring every three (3) years.

A vacancy among the member Bishops shall be appointed by the Presiding Bishop with the advice and consent of the Bishop members of Executive Council. A vacancy among the lay or Priest or Deacon members shall be filled by the President of the House of Deputies with the advice and consent of the lay, Priest and Deacon members of Executive Council. Unless elected or appointed to fill the remainder of an unexpired term, each member shall serve from the first day of January following the adjournment of the General Convention at which the member was elected, until the last day of December of the sixth calendar year following election and until the member's successor is elected and qualifies; however, there shall be no change in the composition of any Hearing Panel while a matter is pending unresolved before the Hearing Panel.

Sec. 4. Within sixty days following each General Convention, the Board shall convene to elect a president for the following triennium. The president shall be a Bishop. If there is no president, the Bishop who is senior by consecration shall perform the duties of the president.

Sec. 5. The Conference Panel shall consist of three Bishops, one Priest or Deacon and one lay person. The Hearing Panel shall consist of three Bishops, one Priest or Deacon and one lay person, except that the Hearing Panel for the Offense specified in Canon IV.4.1.h.2 pertaining to Doctrine Offenses shall consist of five Bishops only.

Summary of Work

We held several training sessions by phone and on line, particularly for the work of Conference and Hearing Panels.

As the work of the Board began in 2018, the case concerning Bp. J. John Bruno (Los Angeles) was still being considered. The Hearing Panel finished its work, and on December 26, 2018, issued an Order affirming a Sentence of Suspension for a period of three years, retroactive to August 2017, during which time Bp. Bruno was not to function in any way as a Bishop of The Episcopal Church.

Other concerns addressed by the Board during this triennium include the case of Bp. William Love (Albany), whose ministry had been restricted by the Presiding Bishop effective January 1, 2019. An Accord was reached and approved by the Disciplinary Board on October 21, 2020. Bp. Love resigned his jurisdiction on February 1, 2021, following a sabbatical leave in January of that year.

In July of 2020 an Accord was reached between the Presiding Bishop and Bp. Whayne Hougland (Western Michigan and Eastern Michigan, Provisional), and approved by the Board. The agreement called for a Suspension of episcopal ministry for the period of one year.

Each of these decisions was communicated to the mandated groups.

During this triennium three complaints were referred to conciliation, two were dismissed with appropriate pastoral response, and one was dismissed with the possibility for appeal to the President.

Funding for the ministry of the Disciplinary Board during this triennium has come from two sources:

- At the end of 2020 funds from The Episcopal Church had been expended in the amount of \$250,939.46,
- And from the Presiding Bishop's office in the amount of \$197,281.00, for a total of \$448,220.46.

This is a considerable decrease over the preceding triennium!

I cannot say enough about the dedication of the members of this Board; they are wonderful, and it has been a joy to serve with all of them.