Since the election of the Rev. William White as the first President of the House of Deputies in 1785, the office has been occupied by some of the most influential figures in the Episcopal Church. For many years, it served as a stepping stone to the episcopate of a major diocese. That changed after the establishment of the National Council in 1919 and the elevated importance of the House in shaping the governance, mission and leadership of domestic Church’s mission and program.

The President of the House of Deputies was the only presiding officer of the House until a change in the Canons in 1964 provided for a Vice-President. The Canons were also changed that year to provide for the election of the President for the next Triennium before the adjournment of Convention, so that the term runs from the adjournment of one Convention to the adjournment of the next, rather than the original method of opening each Convention with the election of the Presiding Officers on Day 1. A Canon revision in 1967 restricted the term of President or Vice-President to three consecutive terms. Most presidential elections have been decided by acclamation, with a majority voice vote.

Gay Jennings, President.

Byron Rushing, Vice President.